Bye Bye Benzos

Twenty days since my last post and I’m off benzos! I had my (hopefully!) last clonazepam a week ago, and before that, I went several days without taking one. My symptoms didn’t last as long as I thought they would, thank goodness. I assume that’s because I wasn’t taking clonazepam for that long, compared to people who have been on them for years.

Unfortunately my anxiety did come back with a vengeance. It’s not necessarily a re-bound effect but more so the reason I resorted to benzos in the first place. I’ve had problems with anxiety since I was seven years old, and despite supplements (taurine, l-theanine, magnesium, b-vitamins, and fish oil), meditation, healthy diet, no alcohol, running and therapy, my anxiety is still crippling and severely impacting my life. So, my psychiatrist and I decided that I should try Zoloft because it’s a safer, non-addictive treatment for anxiety. I started last week, and so far I haven’t had any major side-effects. I’ve been on SSRI’s numerous times in the past and always responded well. I have, however, gotten a bit “spazzy” when starting SSRI’s a few times in the past, which lead previous doctors to think I was bipolar. I get a bit too happy; sleep a not quiet enough, and find myself giggling at random things, feeling high. I felt a touch of that yesterday when I thought about how well Zoloft was working already; how I loved Zoloft, wanted to marry it and have little Zoloft cartoon babies- the happy ones, not the sad ones. Okay, it does make me a little “high” at times, but that effect usually passes in time. Here’s to my current cocktail: Zoloft, Latuda, and Topamax- cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

